Jun 18, 2024

Ensuring Compliance: A Comprehensive Guide to the BRCGS Global Food Safety Standard

Ensuring Compliance: A Comprehensive Guide to the BRCGS Global Food Safety Standard

What is the BRC?

The British Retail Consortium (BRC) stands at the forefront of the UK’s retail industry, primarily known for developing the BRC Global Standards (BRCGS). These standards have earned global respect, with certifications being recognized not only in the UK but also in countries like Japan, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and across the European Union. Since their introduction in 1998, the BRC Global Standards have continuously evolved to reflect changes in lifestyles, diets, and eating habits. Despite these evolutions, the unwavering commitment to high food safety standards remains a cornerstone.

A Global Benchmark for Quality and Safety

BRCGS certification is a hallmark of quality and safety, utilized by over 29,000 certified suppliers across 130 countries. It signifies a company’s dedication to maintaining high standards in food production, packaging, storage, and distribution. The certification focuses on critical aspects such as quality, safety, and operational criteria, ensuring that businesses meet stringent international benchmarks.

Key Areas of Interest in BRCGS Compliance

Navigating compliance can be intricate, yet it is essential for upholding food safety. Here’s a quick overview of the seven core areas:

1. Senior Management Commitment: Establishing a clear quality management system and organizational structure.
2. HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points): Implementing a preventive approach to address biological, chemical, and physical hazards in food production.
3. Quality Management System: Ensuring consistency and traceability through meticulous documentation.
4. Site Standards: Maintaining clean and well-maintained facilities to prevent contamination.
5. Product Control: Rigorous testing and monitoring to guarantee product quality and safety.
6. Process Control: Efficient management of manufacturing processes to preserve product integrity.
7. Personnel: Providing comprehensive training and protocols to ensure knowledgeable staff who uphold product safety.

Obtaining BRCGS Certification

Achieving BRCGS certification involves rigorous audits conducted by accredited third-party bodies. This certification showcases your commitment to upholding the highest standards of safety and quality throughout the production process. Additionally, certified organizations can use official logos on packaging and marketing materials, enhancing consumer confidence and marketability.

Adapting to Changing Needs: BRCGS 9th Edition

The BRCGS 9th Edition, published in August 2022 and effective from February 1, 2023, introduced significant changes to make the standards more applicable worldwide. (See below for more details) These updates include:

  • Enhanced requirements for fostering a robust food safety culture.
  • New measures to prevent food fraud and bolster food defense.
  • Realigned standards for developing food safety programs based on Codex Alimentarius validation.
  • Mandatory unannounced audits every three years to ensure ongoing compliance.

Levels of BRCGS Certification

BRC Global Standards offer various certification levels based on audit outcomes:

  • Grade AA: Highest level of certification, indicating outstanding compliance.
  • Grade A: High level of compliance with very few or no major non-conformities.
  • Grade B: Acceptable compliance with some areas needing improvement.
  • Grades C and D: Indicate significant areas needing attention, with time allowed for corrective actions.

Who Needs BRCGS Certification?

Any food business aiming to uphold high standards of food safety should seek BRCGS certification. This includes:

  • Food Manufacturers: Demonstrating commitment to food safety and quality.
  • Packaging Manufacturers: Ensuring the safety and quality of packaging materials.
  • Storage and Distribution Centers: Guaranteeing safe handling and storage of goods.
  • Retailers and Suppliers: Often requiring certification from vendors and partners to ensure product safety and quality.

Steps to Get BRCGS Certified

Achieving BRCGS certification involves a systematic approach covered in 10 steps:

1. Understand the Standard: Familiarize yourself with the specific BRCGS standard for your industry.
2. Prepare and Assess: Evaluate your current processes and identify areas needing improvement.
3. Train Your Team: Conduct training and implement necessary changes.
4. Choose a Certification Body: Select an accredited body to conduct your audit.
5. Pre-Audit Assessment: Conduct a mock audit to identify potential issues.
6. Schedule the Audit: Coordinate with the certification body for the official audit.
7. Facilitate the Audit: Address any non-conformities identified during the audit.
8. Certification Decision: The certification body reviews evidence and awards certification.
9. Maintain and Renew Certification: Ensure ongoing adherence to the standard through periodic audits.
10. Continuous Improvement: Regularly review and enhance your processes.

Laying the Groundwork for Certification

Before embarking on the certification steps, it is prudent to lay a solid foundation within your company. This preparation ensures readiness for certification assessments and audits:

  • Comprehensive Gap Analysis: Identify gaps and develop an action plan.
  • Develop an Action Plan: Address deficiencies with detailed steps, including training and process revisions.
  • Implement Changes: Execute the action plan with consistent communication.
  • Internal Audits: Regularly check the effectiveness of new systems.
  • Management Review: Keep senior management updated and involved.
  • BRC Audit: Schedule the official audit once ready.
  • Maintaining Compliance: Continuously improve and update systems and processes.

Maintaining High Standards

Achieving and maintaining BRCGS compliance not only enhances marketability but also builds consumer trust in your products' safety and quality. While the journey may be challenging, the benefits are significant, boosting your brand's reputation and operational efficiency.

Additional Information About the BRC

The BRCGS 9th Edition Overview

Get Started

Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident.

image - CTA Get Started 01
image - CTA Get Started 03
image - CTA Get Started 02
image - CTA Get Started 04